From the Heart of My Bottom by Valerie Cheers Brown

Valentine poster 1

This is a funny story and had to share and being an ex flight attendant knew what it meant when it comes to respecting others language, culture, etc. and if you are going to try to speak their language, make sure you know what you are talking about or have a translator to be on the safe side close and very near.

An aircraft flight attendant shared the account of a traveler from Bombay, India, while in transit to his first visit to the United States.  As the man was served, he gestured his head and answered, “From the heart of my bottom, I am saying thanks to you.”

The flight attendant  discovered this was one of the ole English expressions he knew, and was very pleased to say it with each gesture: “From the heart of my bottom, I am saying thanks to you.”

The flight attendant said, “Now, if I somehow happened to thank individuals from the heart of my bottom, I am certain they would be very offended.”

I think what he was trying to say was, ‘from the bottom of my heart,’ but there was no way we could convey to this man that this sentence was wrong. Although we had a fun time trying, I am sure he spent his American tour thanking people from the heart of his bottom.”

I cherish this story mainly because, likely in light of the fact that I can relate. In my travel ventures and just meeting other cultures right here at home, I’m certain I have said some weird things too.

Leave a Reply

