Sickipedia by Valerie Cheers Brown

strong women

There are so many students in our lifetime that don’t even know who and what many women who were leaders of their time and for us right now today.

Let me introduce to you some women who mean the world to me and have followed since a very young age for their strength, courage and not afraid to speak up and speak out and some trusted God so much that were not even afraid of going to jail for causes they felt strongly about in order to make a difference for generations thereafter and now! 

Sickipedia is going to speak about some heroes who got lost along the way somewhere in history books and in this world.

We hear a lot about men in history who were led to make us believe what history = his story tells was about.

But do we really hear or even know the truth about powerful women who were great leaders who spoke so eloquently and were more feared than any man?

Please share this video and as a black family let’s begin to sit and listen to videos like they use to do back in the day as a family how they listened instead of watching. Let’s listen to this encouraging woman and hear what she has to say and see how she fought for what we are and have right now today, the right to be able to register to vote. Now, we got the right and some of us make excuses not to use what this lady fought for.

Fannie Lou Hamer was known for the saying, “Sick and tired of being sick and tired” and listen why she said this.

Maya Angelou

a wise woman

Dr. Maya Angelou was a creator, writer, artist, performer, artist and extremist, Maya Angelou passed on. Conceived April 4, 1928, she was brought up in isolated country Arkansas, in the U.S. She distributed seven life accounts, three books of expositions, and a few books of verse. She was additionally a writer in Egypt and Ghana and dynamic in the social equality development in the U.S.

http://www.telesurtv.net/english/news/The-Steel-Rod-Strength-of-Black-Women-Maya-Angelou-1-Year-on-20150528-0011.html”. If you intend to use it, please cite the source and provide a link to the original article. http://www.teleSURtv.net/english

This substance was initially distributed by teleSUR at the accompanying location:

Three of her most well-known poems:

Phenomenal Woman ~ Maya Angelou

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.

I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size but when I start to tell them, they think I’m telling lies.

I say, It’s in the reach of my arms, The span of my hips, The stride of my step, The curl of my lips.

I’m a woman Phenomenally.

Phenomenal woman, That’s me.

I walk into a room Just as cool as you please, and to a man, the fellows stand or Fall down on their knees.

Then they swarm around me, A hive of honey bees. I say, It’s the fire in my eyes, And the flash of my teeth, The swing in my waist, And the joy in my feet.

I’m a woman Phenomenally.

Phenomenal woman, That’s me.

Men themselves have wondered What they see in me.

They try so much but they can’t touch My inner mystery.

When I try to show them, they say they still can’t see.

I say, It’s in the arch of my back, The sun of my smile, The ride of my breasts, The grace of my style.

I’m a woman Phenomenally.

Phenomenal woman, That’s me. Now you understand Just why my head’s not bowed.

I don’t shout or jump about or have to talk real loud. When you see me passing, it ought to make you proud.

I say, It’s in the click of my heels, The bend of my hair, the palm of my hand, The need for my care.

Cause I’m a woman Phenomenally.

Phenomenal woman, That’s me.

Still I Rise by Maya Angelou

You may write me down in history with your bitter, twisted lies, you may tread me in the very dirt but still, like dust, I’ll rise.

Does my sassiness upset you? 

Why are you beset with gloom? 

Cause I walk like I’ve got oil wells Pumping in my living room.

Just like moons and like suns, With the certainty of tides, just like hopes springing high, Still I’ll rise.

Did you want to see me broken? 

Bowed head and lowered eyes? 

Shoulders falling down like teardrops.

Weakened by my soulful cries. Does my haughtiness offend you? 

Don’t you take it awful hard Cause I laugh like I’ve got gold mines Digging’ in my own back yard.

You may shoot me with your words, you may cut me with your eyes, you may kill me with your hatefulness, but still, like air, I’ll rise.

Does my sexiness upset you? 

Does it come as a surprise That I dance like I’ve got diamonds at the meeting of my thighs? 

Out of the huts of history’s shame I rise Up from a past that’s rooted in pain I rise I’m a black ocean, leaping and wide, Welling and swelling I bear in the tide.

Leaving behind nights of terror and fear I rise into a daybreak that’s wondrously clear I rise Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave, I am the dream and the hope of the slave.

I rise I rise I rise.  

Human Family by Maya Angelou

I note the obvious differences in the human family.

Some of us are serious, some thrive on comedy.

Some declare their lives are lived as true profundity, and others claim they really live the real reality.

The variety of our skin tones can confuse, bemuse, delight, brown and pink and beige and purple, tan and blue and white.

I’ve sailed upon the seven seas and stopped in every land, I’ve seen the wonders of the world not yet one common man.

I know ten thousand women called Jane and Mary Jane, but I’ve not seen any two who really were the same.

Mirror twins are different although their features jibe, and lovers think quite different thoughts while lying side by side.

We love and lose in China, we weep on England’s moors, and laugh and moan in Guinea, and thrive on Spanish shores.

We seek success in Finland, are born and die in Maine.

In minor ways we differ, in major we’re the same. I note the obvious differences between each sort and type, but we are more alike, my friends, than we are unalike.

We are more alike, my friends, than we are unalike.

We are more alike, my friends, than we are unalike.

This content was originally published by teleSUR at the following address:
“http://www.telesurtv.net/english/news/The-Steel-Rod-Strength-of-Black-Women-Maya-Angelou-1-Year-on-20150528-0011.html”

If you intend to use it, please cite the source and provide a link to the original article. http://www.teleSURtv.net/english


Fannie Lou Hamer – Mother of Voter Registration  

 

Mrs. Fannie Lou Hamer of Ruleville, MS, addresses Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party sympathizers outside the Capitol in Washington, September 17, 1965, after the House of Representatives rejected a challenger to the 1964 decision of five Mississippi agents. Mrs. Hamer and two other African American ladies were situated on the floor of the House while the test was being considered. She said, “We’ll return a seemingly endless amount of time until we are permitted our rights as nationals.” The challe | ASSOCIATED PRESS

Read the whole story at The Daily Beast

Please check this powerful testimony and listen to Mrs. Fannie Lou Hamer who in actuality was the true highlight of this video:  

Sojourner Truth Word and Her Music 

st

Sojourner Truth was eminent in her time for her talking and singing capacity. As a woman who could neither read nor write, she had individuals read to her, particularly the Bible, and from this she added to her exceptional voice about how the world functioned and how it could be moved forward. She seems like a sensible minister in a large portion of her discourses.

“All through her talk she utilized her trademark sharp mind and her connecting with account style as she looked to impact her listeners.” (Fitch and Mandziuk, p. 89)

“As one of only a handful few African American ladies talking freely at the time, the prestige and regard Truth accomplished for herself genuinely were striking.” (Fitch and Mandziuk, on the same page)

“Ladies pioneers of that time were extremely inspired with her. Lucy Stone Portrayed Truth as ‘astute, unselfish, valiant and great’ and Elizabeth Cady Stanton composed of ‘the radiant shrewdness and integrity of this momentous lady.'” (Fitch and Mandziuk, p. 90)

We might want to give you, reader, the kind of Sojourner’s style & wit.  The accompanying are portions from talks she gave over numerous years.

 Perhaps Sojourner’s most famous speech, and the one many people today know her for, was a speech she delivered in 1851 at a Women’s Rights Convention in Akron, Ohio. It is a powerful speech but it was recorded by several different people at the time. The most famous record of it is by Frances Gage, the president of the convention, who was there but didn’t record the speech until 12 years later. She put the speech in southern dialect, but Sojourner never lived in the south and, if anything, would have had a Dutch accent, as Dutch was her first language. A reporter of the time recorded the speech differently. Both versions are below.

The following introduction from Legal Encyclopedia gives the context of the speech.

Sojourner Truth delivered her “Ain’t I a Woman?” speech in 1851 at the Women’s Rights Convention in Akron, Ohio. Her short, simple speech was a powerful rebuke to many antifeminist arguments of the day. It became, and continues to serve, as a classic expression of women’s rights. Truth became, and still is today, a symbol of strong women.

In 1851, Truth attended the Women’s Rights Convention in Ohio. According to Frances Gage, the president of the Convention, on the second day several male ministers showed up and argued that women should not have the same rights as men. The ministers’ reasoning: women were weak, men were intellectually superior to women, Jesus was a man, and our first mother sinned.

Sojourner Truth rose and (amidst protests from some of the women who feared she would talk about abolition) delivered her short, masterful speech–invoking tenets of Christianity and using her strong, imposing presence to debunk the minister’s arguments. Pointing to her well-muscled arms and referring to the hard work she performed as a slave, she allegedly declared, “And ain’t I a woman?” As to the argument that Jesus was a man, she responded: “Where did your Christ come from? Where did your Christ come from? From God and a woman! Man had nothing to do with Him.” And turning the sin of Eve argument on its head, she lectured, “If the first woman God ever made was strong enough to turn the world upside down all alone, these women together ought to be able to turn it back, and get it right side up again!” By all accounts, as Truth spoke, the crowd in the church rose and wildly applauded.

“Ain’t I a Woman?” as recounted by Frances Gage, in 1863

Well, children, where there is so much racket there must be something out of kilter. I think that ‘twixt the negroes of the South and the women at the North, all talking about rights, the white men will be in a fix pretty soon. But what’s all this here talking about?

That man over there says that women need to be helped into carriages, and lifted over ditches, and to have the best place everywhere. Nobody ever helps me into carriages, or over mud-puddles, or gives me any best place! And ain’t I a woman? Look at me! Look at my arm! I have ploughed and planted, and gathered into barns, and no man could head me! And ain’t I a woman? I could work as much and eat as much as a man–when I could get it–and bear the lash as well! And ain’t I a woman? I have borne thirteen children, and seen most all sold off to slavery, and when I cried out with my mother’s grief, none but Jesus heard me! And ain’t I a woman?

Then they talk about this thing in the head; what’s this they call it? [member of audience whispers, “intellect”] That’s it, honey. What’s that got to do with women’s rights or negroes’ rights? If my cup won’t hold but a pint, and yours holds a quart, wouldn’t you be mean not to let me have my little half measure full?

Then that little man in black there, he says women can’t have as much rights as men, because Christ wasn’t a woman! Where did your Christ come from? Where did your Christ come from? From God and a woman! Man had nothing to do with Him.

If the first woman God ever made was strong enough to turn the world upside down all alone, these women together ought to be able to turn it back, and get it right side up again! And now they is asking to do it, the men better let them.

Obliged to you for hearing me, and now old Sojourner ain’t got nothing more to say.

As reported in the Anti-Slavery Bugle, Salem, Ohio, June 21, 1851

May I say a few words? Receiving an affirmative answer, she proceeded; I want to say a few words about this matter. I am for woman’s rights. I have as much muscle as any man, and can do as much work as any man. I have plowed and reaped and husked and chopped and mowed, and can any man do more than that? I have heard much about the sexes being equal; I can carry as much as any man, and can eat as much too, if I can get it. I am as strong as any man that is now.

As for intellect, all I can say is, if woman have a pint and a man a quart–why can’t she have her little pint full? You need not be afraid to give us our rights for fear we will take too much–for we won’t take more than our pint will hold.

The poor men seem to be all in confusion and don’t know what to do. Why children, if you have woman’s rights give it to her and you will feel better. You will have your own rights, and there won’t be so much trouble

The video below is a reading of the speech by Alice Walker.

Further Speech Excerpts on Women’s Rights

1853, New York: “…we’ll have our rights; see if we don’t; and you can’t stop us from them; see if you can.”

1867, New York: “We want to carry the point to one particular thing, and that is woman’s rights, for nobody has any business with a right that belongs to her. I can make use of my own right. I want the same use of the same right. Do you want it? Then get it. If men had not taken something that did not belong to them they would not fear”.

1867, New York: “We are now trying for liberty that requires no blood—that women shall have their rights—not rights from you. Give them what belongs to them; they ask it kindly too.”

“Now, if you want me to get out of the world, you had better get the women voting’ soon. I shan’t go till I can do that.”

1867, New York: “There is a great stir about colored men getting their rights (they received their rights after the Civil War), but not a word about the colored women; and if colored men get their rights and not colored women theirs, you see the colored men will be masters over the women, and it will be just as bad as it was before. So I am for keeping the thing going while things are stirring.

1851 (Here one of her most impressive “reframings” of a subject she knew so well): “O friends, pity the poor slaveholder, and pray for him. It troubles me more than anything else, what will become of the poor slaveholder, in all his guilt and all his impenitence. God will take care of the poor trampled slave, but where will the slaveholder be when eternity begins?”

1854, Boston (from Garrison’s Liberator newspaper): SheNorthern Slavehad often asked white people why God should have more mercy on Anglo-Saxons than on Africans, but they had never given her any answer; the reason was, they hadn’t got it to give.

1856, Battle Creek, MI: “And I asked God, why don’t you come ‘nd ‘leave me—if I was you, and you’se tied up so, I’d do it for you.”

1863, Battle Creek: “Children, who made your skin white? Was it not God? Who made mine black? Was it not the same God? Am I to blame, therefore, because my skin is black? ….Does not God love colored children as well as white children? And did not the same Savior die to save the one as well as the other?”

1867, New York: “I will shake every place I go to.”

Sojourner was very fond of singing both religious and secular songs.

Sojourner Truth… made a version of the song, “The Valiant Soldiers,” which appears in the 1878, 1881, and 1884 editions of her “Narrative”. Her song is almost identical to Captain Miller’s version of the “Marching Song.” In the post-Civil War editions of Truth’s Narrative, “The Valiant Soldiers” is introduced by this sentence by Francis Titus: “The following song, written for the first Michigan Regiment of colored soldiers, was composed by Sojourner Truth during the war, and was sung by her in Detroit and Washington.” She did sing the song, but she was first linked to the song in 1878, fourteen years after Miller’s version was published in the National Anti-Slavery Standard.

In 1993, Sweet Honey in the Rock recorded“Sojourner’s Battle Hymn,” which was basically “The Valiant Soldiers” by Sojourner Truth, which was actually the “Marching Song of the First Arkansas Colored Regiment” by Captain Miller, with a few less stanza’s.

Many people today have also written songs about and for Sojourner Truth. Here’s a sampling:

  • Jack Hardy
  • The Sojourner Truth Quartet: Brilliance of Truth
  • Avery Sharpe is a nationally known bassist and composer and resident of Western Massachusetts. In 2012 he put out an album “Sojourner Truth ‘Ain’t I a Woman.’” He says he wants to “make the public, and particularly the youth, aware of the struggle and contributions of African American abolitionist and woman’s rights activist Sojourner Truth through original musical composition.
  • Jeff Lederer is a New York-based saxophonist/composer/educator. His 2006 CD, “Shakers and Bakers” features Shaker songs set to Jeff’s compositions, as well as “Sojourner’s Song” because she was in the visionary spirit of the Shakers. It is reported in her autobiography to be her favorite song.

 

The Sojourner Truth Statue was unveiled in 2002 after much hard work and dedication to this incredible and courageous woman’s memory who was a true leader of her time.

“There is a kind of strength that is almost frightening in black women.  It’s as if a steel rod runs right through the head down to the feet,” Maya Angelou said.

This content was originally published by teleSUR at the following address: 
 "http://www.telesurtv.net/english/news/The-Steel-Rod-Strength-of-Black-Women-Maya-Angelou-1-Year-on-20150528-0011.html". If you intend to use it, please cite the source and provide a link to the original article. www.teleSURtv.net/english

 

Leave a Reply

