Stop Waiting, Start Doing by Valerie Cheers Brown

“Don’t expect to see a change if you don’t make one.” – Valerie Cheers Brown

I am just so elated to see many amazing and awesome visions coming true and none of this would be possible without God.

My hometown, Saint Louis is making history and I don’t mean bad thing, I mean good things are happening!

Last Tuesday, August 2, 2016. an incredible changing minute for our city, Kim Gardner crushed three rivals in the Democratic essential race for Circuit Attorney.

The most amazing thing is Kim is a member of my church, New Northside Missionary Baptist, and not only are we breaking vicious cycles, we are becoming the first for many positives, i.e  solar-paneled rooftop thanks to the Sierra Club partnering with us.  I will never forget the big hug she gave to me when church had been dismissed!

I am so happy I don’t quite know what to do, so I thought I’d show my appreciation for God’s blessings  by my brief words of gratitude.

One of my big visions was to see our churches begin partnering and I observed this while studying at Saint Louis University being a volunteer serving and cooking for the community at large for seniors.  I noticed how the Catholics give back to the community at large and God gives back to their parish three-fold.  I have never seen such a huge kitchen filled with all kinds of spices, flours from around the world and I got use flavors from around the world and did not realize just how much I loved to cook until volunteering on campus in the Campus Kitchen.

Anyway, I began to mention and share these blessings God gave unto me which came myself along the path of my journey while studying at SLU for a very brief time majoring in Public Policy.

It is so amazing how God places us in incredible places, with incredible people along our journey which we learn from and even share with others, and this is when I shared with my church family and not only did our pastor Reverend Rodrick K. Burton, who just happens to be my brother in law, listen, but we are making a difference in our community and in our great city of Saint Louis, being the first African American church partnering with others.

Reverend Burton was asked to sit on the board of the EPA also and am excited and pray for this to lead to bigger and better things for our community too when it comes to sustainable energy.

I would like to say a very big congratulations to my sister in Christ, Kim Gardner, who in November she will be the first black Circuit Attorney in St. Louis City history.

I had prayed along with doing many blogs writing about how incarceration percentage wise is mostly African Americans and the rest is history and we are going to make some history with God’s help of course in the city of Saint Louis, praying that other cities black churches will follow suit. It is time to make a change and stop blaming others for own ignorance as people of color.  We are descendants of black kings and queens and we got so much to give back to our children and it is time to make a difference for  our children!

It is time to make a change and stop blaming others for own ignorance as people of color.  We are descendants of black kings and queens and we got so much to give back to our children and it is time to make a difference for  our children!

I don’t mean to brag, but I am happy and so very excited to see many great things happening and when I prayed and ask God to help me and anybody associated with my life to make a difference, He answered. I always ask God to touch me from the top of my head down to the bottom of my feet and let everything I say, touch and/or do turn to pure gold! I also say this prayer for anybody associated with myself always especially those whom I love and I love my family and my church family a whole lot.

Congratulations Kim Gardner and we did it!

All I can say is that God answers prayers.

 

 

Stop Waiting For Things To Happen Go Out There And Make Things Happen!

 

Leave a Reply

